
Cyprus Mandatory Driving Lessons 2026: Minimum Lessons by Category and the Reported 14 September Start
Cyprus is making driving-school lessons a condition of the practical test: A1 5, A2 5, A 7, B 10, B+E 7 under decree KDP 273/2026, plus 5 after a fail. The 14 September 2026 date is press-reported, not yet RTD-confirmed.
Key Takeaways:
- Cyprus is introducing a rule that no practical driving test is conducted unless the candidate presents a certificate of completed driving school lessons. Press reports put the start date at 14 September 2026; the decree that sets the lesson numbers (KDP 273/2026, gazetted June 2026) does not state that date, and the Road Transport Department had not confirmed it in the material we reviewed.
- Minimum lessons by category under KDP 273/2026: A1 5, A2 5, A 7, B 10, B+E 7 (45-minute periods, theory plus practical, at a driving school).
- Fail the practical exam and you must complete 5 additional lessons before you can take it again.
- The requirement applies to categories A1, A2, A, B and B+E. The theory test is unchanged.
- Cyprus road deaths rose about 10% in 2025, one of the pressures behind the tightening rules.
- The cheapest part of the process is still the one you can prepare for free: practise the Cyprus theory test on ExamReady.
Getting a driving licence in Cyprus is about to involve a lot more time behind the wheel, officially. According to AlphaNews (July 2026), from 14 September 2026 the Road Transport Department (RTD) will not administer a practical driving exam unless the candidate presents proof of completing a set number of lessons at a certified driving school. The lesson numbers themselves are fixed by decree KDP 273/2026, gazetted in June 2026, which replaces KDP 240/2016; that decree does not state a 14 September start date, and the RTD had not published a confirmed commencement date in the material we reviewed, so treat the date as reported rather than official until the RTD confirms it. For most car learners, the rule means ten documented lessons before test day, and five more after every failed attempt.
This mandatory-lessons rule is a national Cyprus measure. It is separate from the wider EU-driven licence reform that Cyprus is now drafting (digital licences, accompanied driving at 17, a two-year probation for new drivers), which we cover in our Cyprus driving licence reform 2026 guide.
What Is Changing, and When?
The rule is simple: no certificate, no practical exam. Every candidate in the affected categories must complete a minimum number of lessons, between 5 and 10 depending on the category, at a licensed driving school before they can sit the practical test. The driving school issues a training certificate (form TOM 180A), and examiners will require it as a condition of taking the exam. The reported start date is 14 September 2026 (AlphaNews); the RTD had not confirmed it at the time of writing.
The requirement covers five licence categories:
| Category | What it covers | Minimum age | Mandatory lessons |
|---|---|---|---|
| A1 | Motorcycles up to 125cc / 11kW | 17.5 | 5 |
| A2 | Motorcycles up to 35kW | 20 | 5 |
| A | Unrestricted motorcycles | 22 (with 2 years on A2) or 24 | 7 |
| B | Cars up to 3,500kg, up to 8 passengers | 17.5 | 10 |
| B+E | Category B vehicle with trailer | 17.5 | 7 |
The per-category minimums above come from decree KDP 273/2026 (Gazette, 26 June 2026), which replaces the 2016 decree. Each lesson is a 45-minute period and the minimum covers theory and practical instruction combined. A category B licence with a 3,500-4,250 kg trailer combination also requires 7 lessons. Until now, car candidates faced no comparable nationwide lesson mandate.
What Happens If You Fail the Practical Test?
Here is the part that changes the economics of test day: a failed practical exam now carries a built-in cost beyond the retest fee. Candidates who fail must complete 5 additional driving school lessons before they're allowed to book another attempt. Every fail adds paid instruction time, scheduling delays and, given driving school availability, potentially weeks of waiting.
That makes first-time preparation worth real money. Cyprus practical test candidates are routinely failed for things they could have drilled in advance: pre-drive vehicle checks, verbal road-rule questions and observation habits. Our guides to the pre-drive vehicle checks and the practical test's oral questions cover exactly what examiners ask.
The theory side is unaffected by the new rules, but it is still the first gate. The Cyprus theory exam is a short oral test, and you can practise realistic Cyprus theory questions free on ExamReady until you are consistently passing before you spend a cent on lessons.
Why Is Cyprus Tightening Its Driving Test Rules?
Road safety, mostly, and a reform that has been in the pipeline for years. Cyprus recorded 46 road deaths in 2025, up from 42 in 2024, roughly a 10% increase in a year when road deaths across the EU fell by 3% (European Commission, 2026). At 46 deaths per million inhabitants, Cyprus now sits above the EU average of 43.
Young drivers are central to the concern. Drivers and riders under 24 account for more than a quarter of Cyprus's road deaths, and motorcyclists for around 30%, according to figures cited by Transport Minister Alexis Vafeades (Cyprus Mail, May 2026). The lessons mandate targets exactly the point where those drivers enter the system: initial training.
The idea itself is not new. As far back as 2020, the Road Transport Department's deputy director Yiannis Nikolaidis told lawmakers that ten practical lessons represented "a reasonable minimum" for preparing new drivers, with driving school certification as a condition for exam eligibility. The same 2020 discussions floated GPS tracking of practical exam routes to make assessments more transparent, a measure that has been proposed but not confirmed as part of the 2026 rules.
Part of a Bigger 2026 Licensing Overhaul
The lessons mandate is the second big licensing change to land in Cyprus this year. Since 1 July 2026, learner motorcyclists in categories AM, A1, A2 and A may only ride under the direct supervision of a licensed instructor following in a separate vehicle, wearing mandatory protective gear: helmet, reflective jacket, long trousers, boots, knee and elbow pads, and gloves. Working as a food-delivery rider on a learner's permit is now explicitly prohibited.
These changes stem from the Driving Licence (Amendment) Law 144(I)/2023, whose learner provisions took effect on 1 July 2026 under Law 225(I)/2025 after a postponement. The government's broader Strategic Action Plan to 2030 adds stricter probationary licences for new drivers and more 30 km/h urban zones, so the lessons rule is unlikely to be the last word. For the full picture of categories, fees and validity, see our Cyprus driving licence guide.
What Should Learner Drivers Do Now?
If you are already in the licensing process, the calendar matters. Here is the practical read:
- Ready for your practical test? Book it as early as you can. The Road Transport Department has previously reported waiting lists of 3-4 months for practical tests, and demand may spike as the reported September date approaches. Until the rule is in force, a practical test does not require the lesson certificate.
- Just starting? Assume the new rules will apply to you. Pass the theory test first (here is how to prepare), then plan for at least ten driving school lessons before your Category B practical.
- Partway through lessons? Keep records. The certificate from a certified driving school becomes your ticket to the exam, so make sure your instructor documents every lesson.
- Budgeting? Factor in the retake rule. Five extra mandatory lessons after a fail means an unprepared attempt costs far more than the test fee. Our booking, cost and documents guide breaks down the current fees.
Two open questions: the RTD has not confirmed the start date in an announcement we could find, and the reports so far do not spell out transitional arrangements for candidates who are mid-process when the rule begins. If that is you, confirm your situation with your driving school or the Road Transport Department before relying on the old rules.
Frequently Asked Questions
When do the new Cyprus driving licence rules take effect?
Press reports (AlphaNews, July 2026) give 14 September 2026 as the date from which the Road Transport Department will not conduct a practical driving exam without a driving-school certificate. The decree fixing the lesson numbers, KDP 273/2026, was gazetted in June 2026 but does not state that date, and the RTD had not confirmed it in the material we reviewed. Check with your driving school or the RTD before relying on either the old or the new rule.
How many driving lessons are required for a Category B licence in Cyprus?
A minimum of 10 lessons with a certified driving school instructor. The other affected categories require A1 5, A2 5, A 7 and B+E 7 lessons under decree KDP 273/2026, plus 5 more after any failed practical test.
What happens if I fail the Cyprus practical driving test under the new rules?
You must complete 5 additional driving school lessons before you can retake the exam. Combined with test fees and waiting times, that makes each failed attempt significantly more expensive than before, and first-time preparation more valuable.
Do the new rules change the Cyprus theory test?
No. The theory exam, a short oral test on road rules and signs, is unchanged. It remains the first step, and you can practise Cyprus theory questions free on ExamReady before booking it.
I already hold a learner's licence. Do the new rules apply to me?
If your practical test takes place after the rule comes into force (reported as 14 September 2026), expect to need the lesson certificate. Official guidance on the start date and on transitional cases had not been published when we last checked, so confirm with your driving school or the Road Transport Department.
Related Guides
Continue learning with these related articles

Cyprus Driving Licence Reform 2026: New EU Rules, Digital Licences and Driving at 17
Cyprus is drafting legislation for the new EU driving licence directive: digital licences in the EU wallet, accompanied driving at 17, a two-year probation for new drivers, and EU-wide bans. What changes, and when.

What Is the Drink-Drive Limit in Cyprus? 2026 Alcohol Limits, Laws and Penalties
Cyprus drink-driving limit explained: 0.05% BAC for most drivers, 0.02% for new and professional drivers, penalty bands, drug-driving rules and 2026 changes.

International Driving Permit in Cyprus 2026: Do You Need One, and How to Get One From the RTD
Who needs an IDP to drive in Cyprus, and how Cyprus licence holders get one from the RTD: form TOM 26A, two photos, the €30 fee and 12-month validity.

Cyprus Motorcycle Licence 2026: AM, A1, A2 and A Categories, Ages, Lessons, Learner Rules and Fees
Cyprus motorcycle licence explained: AM, A1, A2 and A ages, the 1 July 2026 learner rule, mandatory lessons, €20 learner's licence and €40 issue fee.
Ready to test your knowledge?
Put what you've learned into practice with our free driving theory practice tests.
Start Practicing